Capture this!

I took my daughter to my husband’s office this week, and one of his co-workers told us “Make sure you video tape her all the time” since time passes by so quickly. The fact that I am sitting here exactly 2 weeks away from her “4 month birthday” is a great example of how much time has passed. I look at pictures of her as a newborn, and it feels like it was yesterday, but at the same time I can barely remember those days.

I am blessed to have a year at home with her (whoot whoot Canada!) and though I try to make sure we spend tons of quality time each day, I feel slightly disappointed when I can’t remember the first time she smiled. Being a parent sure does keep me on my toes, and I am pretty sure that I am usually doing at least 5 things at one time. Therefore, no matter how much I capture, I still feel like I am missing moments that I can never get back. So, the idea of this blog then came to my mind. I have always wanted to be a cool blogger (who know’s why lol) and I seriously need to start writing down our experiences with our little pumpkin, or before I know it she will be a year old, I’ll be back at work, and I won’t be able to remember her being this small (I’ve been told this countless times).

I’ll first go back and try to pull up a few of the most memorable snapshots I’ve captured in my “mommy” mind over the past 3 months…

  • Of course nothing beats the moments the doctors put her in our arms…still the best moment so far
  • She used to sleep all day and then wouldn’t go to sleep until 2 am. I’m so glad those days are over. She now usually sleeps 8-12 hours *happy dance*
  • My mom spent the first month here with us – moms really are the best
  • I flew to Michigan with her by myself. I was quite happy when daddy flew back with us.
  • She met family from both mommy and daddy’s side over the Christmas holiday – priceless moments
  • She started “talking”, making all kinds of noises. Even though I am a speech therapist – as a parent this surprised me and it made me feel like she was way ahead of all the other infants:) Her favorite thing to talk to was the Christmas tree.
  • She was dedicated to God on December 31, 2011
  • She would sleep with us or on our chest – the best feeling ever. She is now in her crib, which helps her parents sleep much better, but I secretly wish she could still sleep right next to me.

Now I really would like to update this weekly, so I can go back and read this later. However, in my 3 and 1/2 short months as a mom I have learned not to make any promises:) When I do write though, I think I’ll try to follow this format:

  • A quick blurb about what’s on my mind that week
  • Highlights of my week
  • Funniest moment of the week
  • Crazy parent moment of the week
  • Milestone of the week
  • Bellelesson of the week

Here’s this week’s post:

  • A quick blurb about what’s on my mind that week – did this already!
  • Highlights of my week – She is starting to know who her parents are. She will scan the room, find me, and smile.
  • Funniest moment of the week – Just happened tonight. She was “yelling” at us because she was hungry. She wasn’t crying; just shouting. We thought this was quite hilarious. (Hope she knows this won’t be funny once she can talk)
  • Crazy parent moment of the week – She got hungry on the way home from daddy’s job. We had to pull over to feed her (she will cry until she throws up) and she ate too fast and threw up anyway all over daddy. Then I had to change her clothes in the car on the side of the road. Then she smiled…lol
  • Milestone of the week – She is really showing signs of teething. She was chomping on her finger and teething rings today.
  • Bellelesson of the week – Everyday God gives us small little presents to put a smile on our faces. Are you taking the time to capture these moments? Try it. It will really make you smile in the midst of whatever craziness is going on in your life.

Till next week (I hope)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kyla
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 13:14:41

    Great idea, Toula. I wish I had continued journalling about my kids.

    Reply

  2. GiGi
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 15:12:42

    So proud of my baby Issy and of u and Caleb for the wonderful job u r doing. Wish I could b there to share in all the milestones but Skype will do for now. Enjoy parenthood. God bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

