Good Mom vs Bad Mom

This week I have been struggling with being good. Being a good mom, a good wife, a good Christian, and being good to myself.  I’m not sure who told women that we need to be perfect, but for some reason we try to achieve this unattainable goal. I think that being a mother somehow highlights all the flaws you have (e.g., you don’t eat healthy and in return you can have a gassy baby).

So this week I found myelf feeling overwhelmed with all the responsilities I hold (some self-imposed).  My daughter usually only naps for 30 minutes at a time, so I spend my day planning what I will do while she sleeps.  These tasks can include anything,  such as  cleaning the bathroom, washing bottles, doing a load of laundry,  or paying a bill.  As you can imagine, I have pretty much set myself up for failure.  So when my poor husband comes home from work and innocently asks “What did you do today?” I look at him like he is crazy because I feel like I haven’t completed anything at all.  Which I then equate to being a “bad” mom, wife, etc.

Well, I took my pumpkin to her 4 month doctor appointment and realized I left her baby bag at home. Even though I had spare diapers/wipes in the car, I felt awful and proceeded to think about all the things she may have needed from her bag, and was being seriously down on myself. As I grumpily put her car seat on the stroller, I looked down at her and she flashed me the cutest no teeth smile ever. I couldn’t help but smile back and thank God for a wise baby who knows how to bring her imperfect mommy back to reality.

  • Highlights of my week : She has been smiling at me all week, more than usual. As if she knows I need to take about 10 chill pills everyday. Lol
  • Funniest moment of the week: When she would try to fit all 10 fingers in her mouth at the same time.
  • Crazy parent moment of the week: I was almost done  changing her diaper when she decided she wasn’t finished yet! Boy I had to react quickly!
  • Milestone of the week: (This probably means nothing but…) She can really hold her head up ridiculously high during tummy time and she is starting to move her left leg  back and forth. Though I realize she is far from crawling, and how much my life will change when she does, this was very exciting to us. 🙂
  • Bellelesson of the week: Let go, Let God can also apply to all the “little” problems in my life. I have to let Him lead each day and go to bed knowing that the day went exactly as He planned. He doesn’t expect me to be perfect and neither does Belle:-)
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shavonne Readus
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 04:59:10

    This is such beautiful writing with such beautiful intent! Keep it up; it will help you more than you realize… 😉

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 01:25:11

    Thank you for writing this! From one imperfect mommy to another!

    Reply

  3. Candace Tate
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 04:04:08

    Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

