Whitney

When Whitney Houston died almost a week ago, I knew that I would write about her in my blog this week. There are so many things I could write about when thinking about her.  I could write about how tragic her death has been. I could write about her struggle with addictions and how her life could have turned out if she had maybe chosen her company differently. I could write about her mother’s pain, as her worst nightmare has now come true. However, the first thing that came to my mind when I heard about Whitney was her daughter. Whether or not you followed her music (I have childhood memories of listening to her albums with my father) and were/were not shocked by her death, any mother would be heartbroken at the thought of leaving her child(ren) behind.

As people speculate to what caused Whitney’s death and discuss many of the unfortunate things that happened during her life, I really hope and pray her daughter is surrounded by people who will encourage her to remember her mother for what she did well in her life. That’s what I would want someone to do for me.

When I think of my mother, many memories come to mind (and the good definitely outweigh the bad). I love how the simple smell of something can remind me of my mother, or how her influence has an effect on me so much that people who haven’t seen me in years, but know her, comment on how much I am like her.  I also love that her embrace is still the most comfortable place to be when I am down. I don’t know how many years I’ll be able to share life on this earth with my baby girl, but I hope that she can create her own fond memories of me with whatever time we are given.

  • Highlights of my week : She is 4 months old today! Our baby girl is growing up.
  • Funniest moment of the week: If I lean in close to her face, she grabs it (which is so cute), and tries to eat my lips…lol. Everything is chewable to her.
  • Crazy parent moment of the week: Weirdly enough, I can’t think of one. I’m sure we had one…but overall we had a good week.
  • Milestone of the week: She held her bottle all by herself ! It was only for about 15 seconds but it was so cute!
  • Bellelesson of the week: Create lasting memories for your children. Memories are all they will have when you are gone.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 17:01:22

    I thought about that this morning. I hope people pray for her daughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

