What to do?

So I obviously forgot about posting on the weekend. Must have been because I didn’t write it on my handy to do list or put it in as a reminder on my phone. If I don’t do either, more than likely I won’t remember to do it. Baby brain is VERY REAL.

So now that I am home during the day I admit, I do watch TV. It may take me a few hours to watch a show (I often pause it to go do something with Izzy and I completely forget I’m watching the show), but I find it gives me something to do while I am cleaning, washing bottles, doing laundry, etc. I usually watch TLC or HGTV (I’m so old and boring lol) and I was watching one of TLC’s many baby shows. There was a mom on there who became pregnant after doctors told her she’d never be able to conceive (I can’t remember what disease she had). So she is in labor, and her baby’s heart rate drops, and the doctors try to convince her to get an epidural. She refuses because it wasn’t in her birth plan and she ends up getting one anyway when she has an emergency C-section.

Now I was a little annoyed with this mom.  I couldn’t understand why she couldn’t let go of her plan and make the best decision for her child. However, I am sure she learned her lesson by the end of her birthing experience. I can relate, because I faced the same decision when I was in labor. Isabelle’s heart rate kept dropping and they gave me the option to have a C-Section or wait and see if I would dilate more. I was confused, stressed, and felt like I didn’t know what to do at first. However, I quickly realized that Isabelle was potentially in trouble, and I didn’t want to have an emergency C-section.  This was the first huge decision we would have to make as parents and in the future we will have to make many more. I find it amazing that as soon as you become a parent your child becomes the most important thing in your world. Children cause you to be completely selfless and though I miss things like sleeping in, I know that I am becoming a better person because of my daughter.

  • Highlights of my week – I caught Isabelle rolling over on video! I walked in her room as she was halfway there. It was a great moment.
  • Funniest moment of the week – She likes to sit on her daddy’s shoulders now and has started doing something that sounds like a laugh when they do this.
  • Crazy parent moment of the week – I was doing laundry and took her to the basement with me to get a load out of the dryer. I didn’t know where to put her while I was getting the clothes out, so I put her inside of the empty laundry basket:) lol Then I put her on top of the clothes on our way upIt’s funny how creative you get as a parent because all you have are 2 hands:)
  • Milestone of the week – She started rolling over and then stopped lol. Luckily I got the first time on video.
  • Bellelesson of the week – When you don’t know what to do, pray and ask God to make the best decision for your child(ren).
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Feisty FirstLady Manuel
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 20:48:39

    I remember trying living in Maplewood on Andrews campus trying to go up stairs to do laundry with a toddler who had barely started walking. How do I get the basket AND the kid up these steps…in the snow!! JESUS!! I’ll tell you, drive to the local laundry mat and let her push the basket out to the car to “help” mommy!!! Your mind starts to do what it needs to do…especially as a mother!! God job Mrs. Toula!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

