Plans

Before having a baby I was a super duper organized person. I had organized to do lists, had a spreadsheet to help me pay our bills on time, and found comfort in planning my life so that there would be minimal surprises. Of course, that has all changed since our little one joined our family. I CONSTANTLY have to remind myself that I’m not in control and she runs my life now;) I remember one day I was rushing in order to make it to an appointment.  I went to get her out of her swing, ready to put her in the car seat, and she had spit up all over her outfit. I could do nothing but smile and accept that we were going to be late. (I must admit I still hate being late, don’t know if I’ll ever give this one up). However, Isabelle is a good reminder that no matter how much I plan for things to be perfect, they never will be.

While reading a devotional one morning this week, I came across this idea: “Replace anger or sadness with praises to the Lord today.” (I decided to also add complaining in there) Having a baby does make your life harder, but there are hundreds of little moments that make it worth it, and I realized I should be more thankful.

So, when I feel frustrated or stressed because things aren’t working out as planned,  I also think about two of my favorite verses in the Bible.  I hope they can brighten your day or whatever situation you are going through.

  • “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:9
  •  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11
  • Recent highlights:  She is literally just a joy. She makes me wonder how one little human being could bring joy to so many lives.
  • Recent funny moment: She pushes her tongue against her bottom lip which makes it look like she is pouting or an old lady. It is hilarious (to me at least..lol)
  • Recent crazy parent moment: While I try to feed her cereal, she grabs the spoon every single time.  I feel like I’m looking into the future when she’ll say “No, I want to do it myself mommy”. Someone please pray for patience..hahaha
  • Recent milestones: She ‘halfway’ rolls from her back to her stomach and vice versa.  She won’t commit and go all the way. She starts rolling and stops right before she is on the other side. Crazy girl. She also likes to to sit up, but she can’t do it on her own yet.
  • Bellelesson of the week:
    Life never goes according to your plan, because it’s not supposed to. Find peace in knowing that God has a plan for your life, far greater than you could ever imagine. So though I will still depend on my to do list to help me along the way, I’ll try not to complain when there is a bump in the road. Plus who knows where that unexpected bump will lead me, there just may be a rainbow at the end of that road:)
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela Jude
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 02:48:49

    I loved ur post…. So very true…

    Reply

  2. Summer
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 07:52:33

    Beautifully said this gives me hope 🙂 Thanks

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 13:23:32

    Just what I needed to read and truly absorb today. We have hit a pretty big bump in our road and I am trying to put my trust in God. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

