In my daughter’s eyes

I heard a song this week that inspired this next post. It put all of the things I have been thinking about right into the perfect melody.

I remember when my hubby and I decided we wanted to have a baby. We became pregnant quickly (which shocked me a bit lol) and that’s it…God decided it was time for us to be parents. Now that my little angel is here, I find it easy to think about her in everything I do, say, and think. I see other babies while grocery shopping and I miss her, and find myself wanting the other parents to know “I have a baby too! Aren’t they just wonderful?”. I cry when I watch a show/movie that has anything to do with a child being hurt/sick/dying, because I can’t fathom anything happening to my baby girl. I think about something small (like yelling at my dog) and how I shouldn’t do it because she will learn so much from my behavior. I sleep and jump up because I think I hear her crying. Yes, it’s safe to say I think about her all day.

Though the pressure of being a parent can be stressful at times, I wouldn’t trade it for anything, because there is one word that describes how I really feel about Belle – BLESSED. I feel it all the time and there is really no greater reminder that God exists. She reminds me of it everyday. And now that I have her, I also find myself thinking about my mother, and her mother, and so on. How scared my parents must have been when I was born prematurely. How my grandmother cared for 8 children, mostly on her own, with a steadfast faith. I see the world differently. I see how it is to be a mother.

When we decided to have a baby, I am now realizing that there is no way we could have know what we were truly asking for. There is no way I would have known how much she would change my life for the better. So, I am humbly grateful to God for allowing me to be a mom. I just wanted a baby, but I got so much more;)

Here are some recent things going on with us – and the song I mentioned earlier is below! (You may want to grab some Kleenex -I found it to be a tear jerker)

  • Recent highlights:  My mom was in town for a few days recently and it was such a joy to see her interact with Belle. Generations are a beautiful thing.
  • Recent funny moment: I was lifting her up, which makes her laugh, and she drooled right into my mouth:) Yummy! lol
  • Recent crazy parent moment: Unfortunately, she is getting old enough to learn when we are leaving her room at bed time. So as soon as we put her in the crib, she wakes up and cries and cries. I hate it;(
  • Recent milestones: She sits up unassisted!!!!!! I love how they need your help doing something one day, and then all of a sudden they can do it on their own:)
  • Bellelesson of the week:
    Allow your child to let you view the world in a whole new way.
Leave a Reply

