Smile a while

I have been MIA again! I just can’t seem to understand how one little human being keeps me so busy! I am still loving every minute of it though:)

Well Isabelle and I are currently in Michigan. We flew in a week ago to surprise my parents. I walked in the house, and after the screaming stopped, they swooped Isabelle up and completely forgot I was there. It’s ok though – no hard feelings – after all she is really cute:) lol

So, for the second time since becoming a mom, I flew with Isabelle alone (I have no idea why I continue to do this lol). Of course I over-packed my carry on luggage with every possible thing Isabelle could need. I had blankets, a million diapers, teething toys, hand sanitizer, lotion, 2 changes of clothes, an extra shirt for me, pureed bananas and sweet potato, bibs, spoons, bottles, and the list goes on…Needless to say, I was feeling a little anxious before our trip. Oh, did I mention that Isabelle got a cold the night before we left? So her little tiny nose was running during the entire journey.

When we finally made it to our destination, and met Aunty Meika at the airport, Isabelle was all smiles, even though she was extremely tired. She was even laughing and grinning while my parents were screaming. I couldn’t help but think, “Babies really know how to live in the moment”. I felt like we had to longest journey ever and she was just smiling away as if we just took a 30 minute drive. She always surprises me with her ability to adapt to new situations. She doesn’t think about the times when “this didn’t work before” or put on a grumpy face because she is a little sleepy.  She was even laughing it up with the flight attendants who took a liking to her.

Couldn’t we all learn to be a little more like this. To choose to be happy when things aren’t going our way. To choose to smile when we have had a long day. To choose to have a good laugh with your spouse when you realize maybe you have been a little hard on him lately. I always laugh when Isabelle is in tears one moment and then laughing the next. But she gets it….smiling is good for the soul.  There is a song I love by India Arie that says:

It doesn’t cost a thing to smile

You don’t have to pay to laugh

You better thank God for that

Bellelesson: Smile a little more to day – you’ll feel better!

(I’ll put milestones in the next post)

Aside

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ebyam
    May 14, 2012 @ 13:26:59

    I left my devotion in the car this morning, so I just received a quick one… Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

