Drama Queen

It is March 17th and my baby girl is 17th months old today! Almost one and a half!

Wow. A lot has happened since December. I’ve been so busy, I haven’t even been updating you guys with milestones. I promise to do so this time!

So the most exciting thing that has happened is that she is WALKING! I told a friend that I felt like I was waiting for that day since she was born. I’m not sure why, I guess that’s when they really feel like tiny human beings. She is also talking so much more, which I’m loving, since I work with kids all day long trying to work on improving their language skills. It’s truly amazing to witness her development first hand. She called my mom Gi Gi yesterday for the first time, which just melted my heart (my mom was adamant about being called Gi Gi and not Grandma). She also is really becoming friends with the dog. She often goes over to her and pets her (very softly) and also thinks it is a lot of fun to share her food with the dog as well 🙂

So one change that has occurred that I’m just not liking is that she is dramatic. I say I don’t know where she got it from, but I’m sure God is looking down at me right now thinking “Really, you don’t know where?” lol  We are in that toddler stage (I did not know 1 year olds were considered toddlers before I became a mom – someone should have warned me!) where she is already wanting her own way and can throw a serious fit if she feels like it. If she doesn’t throw a tantrum, her other option is to slowly lay on the ground, put her head in her hands, and “cry” with no tears. Like seriously! Where did she learn this from???!!! Somedays we just have to laugh at her and say “Iz you are being SOOOOO dramatic right now”. I should add, to handle the tantrums right now, we are going in a corner and I have her look me in the eyes while I count to 10. It seems to be working for now. The counting distracts her and her breathing slows down, so she actually calms down.

Adults do not like when their children throw tantrums. It’s our worse fear, especially when out in public. However, we throw our own little tantrums too when we don’t get our own way. Life doesn’t go the way WE planned it and we overreact, pout, cry, kick, and scream in frustration.

I’m reading 2 books right now that are helping me with this very topic.

The first is a devotional my dear mother bought for my hubby and I. We absolutely love it. It is called “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young and she reminds me daily that 1)I need to start my day with some guidance from God and 2) if I keep my mind focused on the peace He brings I’ll be more inclined to remember to practice trusting when things don’t go my way.

451884_w185

http://www.amazon.com/Jesus-Calling-Enjoying-Peace-Presence/dp/1591451884

The other book is “Unglued” by Lysa Terkeurst. In this book Lysa discusses how we become emotionally unglued when others mess up our happy and how we can react better to these situations. I like it because she talks about not just the people who yell and scream when they are mad but also talks about those who throw silent tantrums, which she calls stuffing. I SO do this. Something upsets me and I don’t say anything – out loud . Instead I say it all in my head, which isn’t Christian like either and it’s not dealing with the situation correctly. Plus that way I tend to make my own assumptions and get all upset about things that may not even be.

images

http://lysaterkeurst.com/unglued/

Temper tantrums are never cool. Actually, they look a lot worse when an adult is having one and I don’t want to look crazy. So, I am working on not having them. If I don’t stop, maybe my daughter will send ME to the corner instead:)

  • Recent highlights:  She says “mama” consistently now!
  • Recent funny moment: Oh there are so many. She makes us laugh all day. We showed her a video of herself singing some song that has actions. When she saw the video she immediately started singing with it and doing the actions which was just hilarious because we still have no idea what song it is. Clearly she does though.
  • Recent crazy parent moment: She had a bowl of yogurt and a spoon. When she was done she let Laila (our dog) lick the spoon and then she licked it again herself. YUCK! ughh kids. She also ate dog food twice.
  • Recent milestones:  She has added the following words to her repertoire: walk, hooray, baby, ball, up, go, down, water, please, and my favourite “Wow!”
  • Bellelesson of the week: How do you react when things don’t go your way? Are you throwing an adult tantrum? How can you change your behaviour?
Leave a Reply

